The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences

Rockefeller Distinguished Public Service Award

The Nelson A. Rockefeller Distinguished Public Service Award was established by the Board of Visitors in 1990 to honor Nelson A. Rockefeller ’30 for his dedication to service in the public and private sectors.

Rockefeller’s public life spanned nearly 40 years, including 15 years as governor of New York State and two years as vice president of the United States. His commitment to service, though, went beyond his political involvement and included participation on various educational and cultural boards through philanthropic support.

Supported by income from the 1991 Rockefeller Family Challenge endowment fund, the award was created to recognize a Dartmouth alumna/alumnus who has demonstrated exemplary public service in her/his personal and/or professional life.

The Center’s Board of Visitors considers the names of possible recipients and selects one person to receive the award each year. The recipient is invited to Hanover to coincide with the Board’s fall or spring meeting to receive the award and to address the College community and meet informally with students, faculty, and Board members.

Past award recipients

2012: Brian Walsh ’65

Past Chair, Board of Selectmen, Hanover, NH

2009: John Hoeven ’79

Former Governor of North Dakota (2000-2010), former President & CEO of the Bank of North Dakota (1993-2000), former Executive Vice President of First Western Bank in Minot (1986-1993), member of the U.S. Senate from North Dakota (2011- )

2008: Rob Portman ’78

Lawyer and former Director of the Office of Management and Budget (2006-2007), United States Trade Representative (2005-2006), member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Ohio (1993- 2005), U.S. Senator from Ohio (2011- )

2007: Louis F. Oberdorfer ’39

U.S. District Court Judge, former U.S. Assistant Attorney General - Tax Division, former Co-Chairman of Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, and former President of the D.C. Bar

2006: Timothy Geithner ’83

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury (Obama Administration, 2009-2013), former President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of New York, former U.S. Under Secretary for International Affairs, former Director of Policy Development and Review, International Monetary Fund

2005: Stephen Bosworth ’61

Dean of the Fletcher School, Tufts University, former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Korea (1997-2000), Ambassador to the Philippines (1984-1987), and Ambassador to Tunisia (1979-1981). Previous Foreign Service assignments include Paris, Madrid, Panama City, and Washington DC, serving as Director of Policy Planning, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Inter-American Affairs, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economic Affairs, and Director of the Office of Fuels and Energy. Dartmouth College Trustee

2004: H. Carl McCall ’58

Former New York State Comptroller, New York State Senator, Commissioner of the New York State Division of Human Rights, Commissioner of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, UN Ambassador, and President of the New York City Board of Education

2003: Susan Holmes ’84

Environmental activist and former Senior Legislative Representative at Earthjustice in Washington, DC

2002: Robert B. Reich ’68

Former U.S. Secretary of Labor and Massachusetts Candidate for Governor

1999: Angus King ’66

Former Governor of Maine (1995-2003), U.S. Senator from Maine (2013- )

1998: Stuart Simms ’72

Former Secretary of the Maryland Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services, formerly with the Maryland Department of Juvenile Services

1995: John McKernan ’70

Former Governor of Maine (1987-1995), former member of U.S. House of Representatives from Maine (1983-1987)

1993: C. Everett Koop ’37

Former U.S. Surgeon General

1990: Jonathan Moore ’54

Former UN Ambassador, U.S. Representative to the UN Economic and Social Council, and UN Ambassador-at-large for Refugee Affairs

The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences